2020 Graduate Awards

The 2020 Graduate Awards Ceremony is postponed for the time-being. Information on the rescheduled date will be shared with the community as soon as possible.

The winners for 2020 are as follows:

Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award
Zijing Sylvia Chen (Chemical and Biological Engineering)

Rob Hollister Award for Community Service and Citizenship
Zoe Ackerman (Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning)

GSAS Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award
Modhumita Roy (English)

SOE Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award
Erica Kemmerling (Mechanical Engineering)

GSAS Award for Outstanding Academic Scholarship
Yuxian Chen (Economics)
Mudit Jain (Physics)

GSAS Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education
Renee DeCaro (Psychology) 
Alec Drobac (Physics and Astronomy)

SoE Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education
Matthew Ahrens (Computer Science)
Srijith Rajeev (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Sara Wilner-Giwerc (Mechanical Engineering)

SoE Award for Outstanding Academic Scholarship 
Amin Dehkharghani (Mechanical Engineering)
Shreyas Kamath (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Matthew Watson (Mechanical Engineering)

Department of the History of Art and Art Architecture – Rhonda Saad Graduate Prize
Micayla Bransfield
Emily Chun

Department of Child Study and Human Development – Eliot-Pearson Master’s and Doctoral Research Practice Integration Awards in Child Study and Human Development
Jessica Somogie (Master’s Level – Thesis Award)
Nicholas Woolf (Master’s Level – Applied Award)
Lauren Stargel (Doctoral Level)

Department of Classical Studies – Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize
Kacey King

Department of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies – Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama and Dance
Yizhou Huang

Department of Occupational Therapy – Marjorie B. Greene Award
Mary Gawron

Department of Psychology – Innovations in Psychological Science Award
Gregory Hughes
Rebecca Peretz-Lange

Department of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning – Ann Urosevich Outstanding Student Award in Policy and Planning
Megan Morrow

Additional Department Awards:

Department of Occupational Therapy – Bekenstein Family Endowment

Zahera Ali
Caitlin Blaine
Louisa Bradberry
Teaghan Fallon
Mary Gawron
Katherine Grove
Taylor Harris
Sara Heath
Amanda Huang
Evan Hunter
Jasmine Jean
Kristen Kurihara
Anais Lugo-Guercio
Megan Maloney
Erin McConnell
Kara McSheehy
Patricia Mygas
Meaghan O'Connell
Lia Stratton
Amy Wilson
Ruth Yeh
Miranda Zenni

Department of Occupational Therapy – Joy Ann Greisen Scholarship

Louisa Bradberry
Teaghan Fallon
Sara Heath


Graduate Student Council (GSC) Awards

Outstanding Faculty Contribution to Graduate Studies
Jon Witten (Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning)

Outstanding Graduate Contribution to Mentoring or Teaching Undergraduates
Harry Hoke (Theatre and Performance Studies)

Outstanding Graduate Student Organization
Student Occupational Therapy Association (SOTA)
Graduate Society of Women Engineers (GSWE)

Outstanding Graduate Contribution to Diversity and Inclusion
Gabriela Garcia (Biology, Graduate of Arts and Sciences Community Fellow)
Anais Lugo-Guercio (Occupational Therapy, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Community Fellow)

Graduate Student Council Service Awards
Administration: Margaret DeChiaro (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
Student: Morgan Taylor (Chemical and Biological Engineering; Graduate Student Council)

3 Minute Thesis (3MT) Winners

Natalie Rubio, Biomeical Engineering (First Place), Sam Lasser, Computer Science (Second Place), Andrew Clark, Physics and Astronomy (Third Place), Jessica Stieglitz, Chemical and Biological Engineering (People's Choice)

Graduate Student Research Symposium Winners

15 Minute Talks
Genevieve Pugesek, Biology (First Place), Ryan Hannagan, Chemistry (Second Place), Justin Birudavol, Child Study and Human Development (Third Place)

3 Minute Talks
Thanh Will Le, Biomedical Engineering (First Place), Veronica Lima Gonsalez, Civil and Environmental Engineering (Second Place)

Poster Session
Jessica Rocha, Child Study and Human Development (First Place), Hannah Riehl, Child Study and Human Development (Second Place), Cecilia Hinojosa, Psychology (Third Place)

Art Exhibition
Alexandra Khristich, Biology, and Khushbu Kshirsagar, Education


Graduate Student Research Competition

The Graduate Student Research Competition supports graduate students by providing funding for expenses of travel to conducting research. Funding is competitive and is based on the significance of the research and the clarity of the proposal.

Fall 2019 Winners

Janani Baskaran (Biomedical Engineering)
Justin Birudavol (Child Study and Human Development)
Nathaniel Braddock (Music)
Gabriela Garcia (Biology)
Yizhou Huang (Theatre and Performance Studies)
Juyon Lee (Fine Arts)
Jiayi Liu (Child Study and Human Development)
Joanna McQuade (English)
Isaac Mudge (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
Yerin Park (Child Study and Human Development)
Nick Pittman (Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning)
Arlinda Rezhdo (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
Jessica Rocha (Child Study and Human Development)
Asha Tall (English)

Spring 2020 Winners


More information about the annual Graduate Student Awards >