2021 Graduate Awards

The winners for 2021 are as follows:

Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award
Breanna Duffy (Biomedical Engineering)

Rob Hollister Award for Community Service and Citizenship
Cecilia Hinojosa (Psychology)

GSAS Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award
Noe Montez (Theatre and Performance Studies)

SOE Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award
Luisa Chiesa (Mechanical Engineering)

GSAS Award for Outstanding Academic Scholarship
Julia Beebe (Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning)
Andrew Clark (Physics and Astronomy)
Tyler Farmer (Philosophy)
Kathleen Sicinski (Chemistry)

GSAS Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education
Itamar Allali (Physics and Astronomy)
Patrece Joseph (Child Study and Human Development)

SoE Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education
Emily Carlson (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Ab Mosca (Computer Science)

SoE Award for Outstanding Academic Scholarship 
Tyler Morris (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Rachel Owyeung (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
Natalie Rubio (Biomedical Engineering)
Jessica Stieglitz (Chemical and Biological Engineering)
Morgan Taylor (Chemical and Biological Engineering)

Department of the History of Art and Art Architecture – Rhonda Saad Graduate Prize
Natalie Gearin

Department of Child Study and Human Development – Eliot-Pearson Master’s and Doctoral Research Practice Integration Awards in Child Study and Human Development
Elizabeth Hunt (Master’s Level – Thesis Award)
Grace Murphy (Master’s Level – Applied Award)
Patrece Joseph (Doctoral Level)

Department of Classical Studies – Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize
Zachary Fletcher

Department of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies – Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama and Dance
Tara Brooke Watkins

Department of Mathematics – Mary Glaser Distinguished Teaching Prize for Graduate Students in Mathematics
Merek Johnson
Daniel Keliher

Department of Occupational Therapy – Marjorie B. Greene Award
Augusta Polhemus

Department of Psychology – Innovations in Psychological Science Award
Paige Hickey
Aeroelay Chyei Vinluan

Department of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning – Ann Urosevich Outstanding Student Award in Policy and Planning
Rebecca Eidelman

Additional Department Awards:

Department of Occupational Therapy – Bekenstein Family Endowment

Daniela Chavez Hernandez
Victoria D'Ortenzio
Sarah Grey
Katherine LaMarre
Katelyn Loring
Sarah Lubic
Emily Machado
Dennise Peary
Hailey Pister
Jordan Soucy


Graduate Student Council (GSC) Awards

Outstanding Faculty Contribution to Graduate Studies
Kareem Khubchandani (Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies) 
James Van Deventer (Chemical and Biological Engineering) 

Outstanding Graduate Contribution to Mentoring or Teaching Undergraduates
Daria Clark (Biology)

Outstanding Graduate Student Organization
Graduate Society of Women Engineers (GSWE)
Tufts Pollinator Initiative (TPI)

Outstanding Graduate Contribution to Diversity and Inclusion
Jessica Stieglitz (Chemical and Biological Engineering)  

Graduate Student Council Service Awards
Administration: Emily Edwards (Chemical and Biological Engineering) 
Student: Katelyn Loring (Occupational Therapy; Graduate Student Council) 

15 Minute Talks
Genevieve Pugesek, Biology (First Place), Ryan Hannagan, Chemistry (Second Place), Justin Birudavol, Child Study and Human Development (Third Place)

3 Minute Talks
Thanh Will Le, Biomedical Engineering (First Place), Veronica Lima Gonsalez, Civil and Environmental Engineering (Second Place)

Poster Session
Jessica Rocha, Child Study and Human Development (First Place), Hannah Riehl, Child Study and Human Development (Second Place), Cecilia Hinojosa, Psychology (Third Place)

Art Exhibition
Alexandra Khristich, Biology, and Khushbu Kshirsagar, Education

Graduate Student Research Competition

The Graduate Student Research Competition supports graduate students by providing funding for expenses of travel to conducting research. Funding is competitive and is based on the significance of the research and the clarity of the proposal.

Fall 2020 Winners

Simone Dufresne (Child Study and Human Development)
Melissa Gordon (UEP)
Yuexing Hao (Computer Science)
Hyejin Im (Human Factors Engineering)
Khushbu Kshirsagar (Education)
Juyon Lee (Studio Art)
Monsurat Olaosebikan (Computer Science)
Raea Rasmussen (Psychology)
Camila Sánchez-Longo (Studio Art)
Haitao Wang (History)
Xihan Yang (Child Study and Human Development)

Spring 2021 Winners


More information about the annual Graduate Student Awards >