2008 Graduate Awards

Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering honor their graduate students through the Graduate Student Awards. The awards celebrate outstanding graduate student achievement in areas such as academic performance, research, student leadership, community service and citizenship, and contributions to undergraduate education. The winners for 2008 are as follows:

The Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award
Foteini A. Makrydaki (Chemical Engineering)
Negin Toosi (Psychology)

The Rob Hollister Award for Community Service and Citizenship
Virginia L. Anderson (Drama)

The Award for Outstanding Academic Performance*
Ragnhild D. Whitaker (Chemistry)
Nicholas O. Rule (Psychology)

The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education*
Erin V. Iski (Chemistry)
Meron Langsner (Drama)
Evan P. Apfelbaum (Psychology)

Faculty Mentoring Award*
Nalini Ambady (Psychology)
Marjorie Hahn (Mathematics)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education**
Marc A. Chiarini (Computer Science)
Mary E. McCormick (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
William L. Rice (Biomedical Engineering)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Researcher**
Hannah Perry (Biomedical Engineering)
David W. Sculley II (Computer Science)
Eric M. Thompson (Civil & Environmental Engineering)

Mary Ann Mulcahy Service in Education Award
The Department of Education and the University College of Citizenship and Public Service created this award to honor a graduate student completing the MAT middle and high school teacher licensure program who has demonstrated a strong commitment to both public service and effective classroom practice in the field experience portion of their program.

Sara Arcaya
Sarah Kehoe
Julia Carroll

The Marjorie B. Greene Award in Occupational Therapy
This award is made to an occupational therapy student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the areas of leadership and involvement in student and professional activities. Ms. Greene was one of the founders of the Boston School of Occupational Therapy in 1918. She was a pioneer in occupational therapy and a leader in OT state and national organizations.

Jane M. Crimmins

Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize
The Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize is awarded annually to a graduate student or students who demonstrate a deep commitment to the field of classical archaeology or classical studies; to the Tufts University Department of Classics and to the broader community.

Lydia P. Sachs
Jessica R. Pesce

Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama
The Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama is awarded annually to a Ph.D. student in drama, who has completed all the requirements for the degree except the dissertation, who has demonstrated distinction academically and in research, and who has contributed to the life of the program in an outstanding manner. The prize was established by alumni, colleagues, and friends in honor of Kalman A. Burnim, Emeritus Fletcher Professor of Drama and Oratory and Tufts alumnus (A'50), who created the Ph.D. program in drama. During his twenty-eight years at Tufts, Professor Burnim chaired the department for nine years and earned his reputation as a world-renowned scholar in theatre history.

Sean F. Edgecomb

Graduate Student Council (GSC) Awards

Outstanding Faculty Contribution to Graduate Studies
David Kaplan (Biomedical Engineering) 
Fred Rothbaum (Child Development)
Astier M. Almedom (Institute for Global Leadership)

Student Organization Award
Hellenic Society of Graduate Students

Service Award
Jessica Pesce, (Classics) GSC, VP
Tisch Library: Joan Michalak, Laura Walters & Kathleen DiPerna

Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring Award
Nina Bozicnik (Art & Art History)
Jennifer DiCorcia (Psychology)
Christian Zeigler (Chemistry)
Laural Hankins, (English)

Graduate Student Photo Contest
1st Prize-Taylor Williams (Biomedical Engineering)
2nd Prize-Huai-Ti Lin (Biology)
3rd Prize-Maria Soledad Gaztambide (UEP)
3rd Prize-Sara Frederikson (Child Development)

Graduate Alumni Awards

Outstanding Career Achievement Award
Richard Syron, A69, G71, economics, Chair & CEO, Freddie Mac
Frank Pao, E71, EG83, electrical engineering, Chairman, Atlantis Energy Systems, Inc.

Outstanding Service Award
Alva Couch, G88, math
David McGrath, G83, biology

More information about the annual Graduate Student Awards >

*Awards for arts and sciences graduate students or faculty only
**Awards for engineering graduate students or faculty only