2010 Graduate Awards

Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering honor their graduate students through the Graduate Student Awards. The awards celebrate outstanding graduate student achievement in areas such as academic performance, research, student leadership, community service and citizenship, and contributions to undergraduate education. The Graduate Student Awards ceremony will be held on Friday, April 23, 2010 from 4:00PM to 6:30PM at the Perry and Marty Granoff Music Center's Distler Performance Hall.

The winners for 2010 are as follows:

The Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award
Ronald Jason Heustis (Biology)

The Rob Hollister Award for Community Service and Citizenship
Mona M. Abo-Zena (Child Development)

The Award for Outstanding Academic Performance*
Kerri Ann Bowen (English)
Jonathan B. Freeman (Psychology)
Heather L. Tierney (Chemistry)

The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education*
Melissa Orkin (Child Development)
Dallase A. Scott (Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning)

Faculty Mentoring Award 
Professor George Smith (Philosophy)
Associate Professor Kyongbum Lee (Chemical and Biological Engineering)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education**
James Kaklamanos (Civil and Environmental Engineering)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Researcher** 
Mashhood Ishaque (Computer Science)

The Gordon Institute Outstanding Student Award** 
Paul R. M. Herman

Mary Ann Mulcahy Service in Education Award
The Department of Education and the University College of Citizenship and Public Service created this award to honor a graduate student completing the MAT middle and high school teacher licensure program who has demonstrated a strong commitment to both public service and effective classroom practice in the field experience portion of their program.

Caroline Foster

Peter Shungu

The Marjorie B. Greene Award in Occupational Therapy
This award is made to an occupational therapy student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the areas of leadership and involvement in student and professional activities. Ms. Greene was one of the founders of the Boston School of Occupational Therapy in 1918. She was a pioneer in occupational therapy and a leader in OT state and national organizations.

Kirsty A. Gilmour

Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize
The Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize is awarded annually to a graduate student or students who demonstrate a deep commitment to the field of classical archaeology or classical studies; to the Tufts University Department of Classics and to the broader community.

Molly M. Gayton

Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama
The Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama is awarded annually to a Ph.D. student in drama, who has completed all the requirements for the degree except the dissertation, who has demonstrated distinction academically and in research, and who has contributed to the life of the program in an outstanding manner. The prize was established by alumni, colleagues, and friends in honor of Kalman A. Burnim, Emeritus Fletcher Professor of Drama and Oratory and Tufts alumnus (A'50), who created the Ph.D. program in drama. During his twenty-eight years at Tufts, Professor Burnim chaired the department for nine years and earned his reputation as a world-renowned scholar in theatre history.

Heather F. Phillips

The Eliot-Pearson Award for Research Practice Integration
The award is given to the student whose accomplishments in scholarship and applied work has demonstrated the most potential to foster the integration of research and practice.

Jessica H. Greenstone

Graduate Student Council (GSC) Awards

Outstanding Faculty Contribution to Graduate Studies
Mitch McVey (Biology)
Philip Starks (Biology)

Outstanding Graduate Student Contribution to Undergraduate Studies
Jeffrey Brown (Biomedical Engineering)
Emily King (English)
Olga Makhlynets (Chemistry)
Nicholas Rule (Psychology)

Service Award
Ronald Jason Heustis, GSC President (Graduate Student)
Lynne Pepall, Dean, GSAS (Faculty)
Bob Reppucci, Director, Medford Facilities (Staff)

Graduate Student Photo Contest
Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering invites its graduate students to submit photos for the Graduate Student Life Photo Contest.

1st Prize-Konstantinos Metallinos, Physics
2nd Prize-Anne Madden, Biology
3rd Prize-Donna Au, Economics

Graduate Alumni Awards: Outstanding Career Achievement Award
This award is given to a Tufts Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and/or School of Engineering graduate who has, with the help of his/her Tufts graduate education, excelled in his/her career of choice.

Claire Van Ummersen, J57, G60, G63, Biology
Vice President, Center for Effective Leadership, American Council on Education

Y.A. Liu, EG70, Chemical Engineering
Frank C. Vilbrandt Endowed Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Virginia Tech

Graduate Alumni Awards: Outstanding Service Award
This award recognizes a Tufts Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and/or School of Engineering graduate who has made exceptional contributions to Tufts since they have graduated.

William Koster, G72, Chemistry

Jonathan Curtis, E69, EG72, Civil Engineering

More information about the annual Graduate Student Awards >

*Awards for arts and sciences graduate students or faculty only
**Awards for engineering graduate students or faculty only