2013 Graduate Awards

Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering honor their graduate students through the Graduate Student Awards. The awards celebrate outstanding graduate student achievement in areas such as academic performance, research, student leadership, community service and citizenship, and contributions to undergraduate education.

The Graduate Student Awards ceremony was held on Friday, April 26, 2013, 4:00 PM at the Perry and Marty Granoff Music Center's Distler Performance Hall.
View event photos >

The winners for 2013 are as follows:

The Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award
Lisa Lam (Mechanical Engineering)

The Rob Hollister Award for Community Service and Citizenship
Michael VanElzakker (Psychology)

Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award
Professor Michael Reed (Biology)
Professor Remco Chang (Computer Science)

The Award for Outstanding Academic Performance (Master's level)*
Michael Laurello (Music)

The Award for Outstanding Academic Performance (Doctoral level)*
Sarah Gaither (Psychology)
Wenwen Huang (Physics and Astronomy)

The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education*
Nealia House (Biology)
Megan Mueller (Child Development)
Megan Stahl (Drama)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Contribution to Engineering Education **
Noah Daniels (Computer Science)
Samuel MacNaughton (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Researcher (Doctoral level) ** 
Bertan Hallacoglu (Biomedical Engineering)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Researcher (Master's level) **
Robert D'Angelo (Electrical Engineering)

The Gordon Institute Outstanding Student Award
Daniel Keating (Engineering Management)

Mary Ann Mulcahy Service in Education Award
Berenice Diaz
Keith Zalaski

The Marjorie B. Greene Award in Occupational Therapy
Jennifer Iassogna

Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize
Brigid Freymuller (Classics)

Rhonda Saad Graduate Prize
Lora Webb (Art History)

Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama
Fiona Coleman Coffey

The Eliot-Pearson Alumni Award
Kristina Schmid Callina
Devanshi Unadkat

The Eliot-Pearson Doctoral Research Practice Integration Award
Megan Kiely Mueller
Melissa Orkin

The Eliot-Pearson Graduate Research Practice Integration Award
Amanda Strawhacker

The Eliot-Pearson Excellence in Teaching Award
Haley Chapman

Graduate Student Council (GSC) Awards

Outstanding Faculty Contribution to Graduate Studies

Dr. Benjamin Hescott (Computer Science)
Dr. Kimberly Parker (Education)

Outstanding Graduate Student Contribution to Undergraduate Studies

Casey Diederich (Biology)
AJ Knox (Drama and Dance)
Caitlin Hachmyer (Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning)
Joseph Brown (Biomedical Engineering)

Outstanding Graduate Student Organization
Biology Union of Graduate Students (BUGS)

Service Awards
Administration: John Barker, Dean of Undergraduate and Graduate Studies
Staff: Phoebe Heyman, GSAS Program Coordinator
Student: Charles Cunningham, Treasurer of the GSC

Research Grants-in-Aid Recipients
The Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering's Research Grants-in-Aid program helps support the research of graduate students by helping them pay for travel expenses in connection with their research, research tools, research participants, and publication expenses.

The program was launched in 2005, and since its inception over 100 graduate students have received research grants-in-aid.

FALL 2012
Jeffrey Birk (Psychology)
Joseph Brown (Biomedical Engineering)
Casey Diederich (Biology)
Neal Drew (Occupational Therapy)
Sarah Gaither (Psychology)
Lydia Harris (SMFA)
Janet Lau (UEPP)
Monica Manoski (SMFA)
Jennifer Mortensen (Biology)
Philipp Opitz (Psychology)
Clare Parker (Biology)
Amna Qayyum (History)
Blake Roberts (UEPP)
Sonja Srdanovic (Art and Art History)
Lara Vujovic (Psychology)
Elijah Wald (IDOC)

Nooria Al-Wathiqui (Biology)
Jennifer Bogle (UEP)
Patricia Buckley (Occupational Therapy)
Robert Burns (Biology)
Bug Davidson (SMFA)
Dante DeMeo (Electrical Engineering)
Aaron Gardony (Psychology)
Simran Kaushal (Biology)
Rachel Kelly (Music)
Christine Lattin (Biology)
Meeyeon Lee (Psychology)
Anna Murray (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
Jennifer Nguyen (Biology)
Fabio Pirozzolo (Music)
Spencer Schwerdtfeger (History)
Elizabeth Shuey (Child Development)
Megan Stahl (Drama)
Amanda Strawhacker (Child Development)
Katherine Walsh (UEP)
Ming Yang (Chemical and Biological Engineering)

Graduate Student Photo Contest

Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering invites its graduate students to submit photos for the Graduate Student Life Photo Contest.
View this year's winning photos >

Graduate Alumni Awards: Outstanding Career Achievement Award
This award is given to a Tufts Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and/or School of Engineering graduate who has, with the help of his/her Tufts graduate education, excelled in his/her career of choice.
Todd Pagano Ph.D. '10, Chemistry
Mark Martin MSEM '90, Gordon Institute

Graduate Alumni Awards: Outstanding Service Award
This award recognizes a Tufts Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and/or School of Engineering graduate who has made exceptional contributions to Tufts since they have graduated.

Gina McCarthy M.S. '81, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning
Alva Couch Ph.D. '88, Computer Science

More information about the annual Graduate Student Awards >

*Awards for arts and sciences graduate students or faculty only
**Awards for engineering graduate students or faculty only