2009 Graduate Awards

Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering honor their graduate students through the Graduate Student Awards. The awards celebrate outstanding graduate student achievement in areas such as academic performance, research, student leadership, community service and citizenship, and contributions to undergraduate education. The winners for 2009 are as follows:

The Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award
Alicia Doyle Lynch (Child Development)
Nella Young (UEP)

The Rob Hollister Award for Community Service and Citizenship
Julia Heather Thompson (Occupational Therapy)
Kristin Dukes (Psychology)

The Award for Outstanding Academic Performance*
Molly Dickens (Biology)
Amy Woodbury (English)
Huipeng Chen (Physics)

The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education*
Mona Abo-Zena (Child Development)
Kevin Landis (Drama)

Faculty Mentoring Award*
Holly Taylor (Psychology)

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education**
Brett Boghigian (Chemical/Biological Engineering)
Susan Tse (Mechanical Engineering))

The Award for Outstanding Graduate Researcher**
Michael Lovett (Biomedical Engineering)
Ryan Nolan (Chemical/Biological Engineering)
Michael Horn (Computer Science)

Mary Ann Mulcahy Service in Education Award
The Department of Education and the University College of Citizenship and Public Service created this award to honor a graduate student completing the MAT middle and high school teacher licensure program who has demonstrated a strong commitment to both public service and effective classroom practice in the field experience portion of their program.

Deborah Browder
Jordan Goldwarg

The Marjorie B. Greene Award in Occupational Therapy
This award is made to an occupational therapy student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the areas of leadership and involvement in student and professional activities. Ms. Greene was one of the founders of the Boston School of Occupational Therapy in 1918. She was a pioneer in occupational therapy and a leader in OT state and national organizations.

Jan Hollenbeck

Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize
The Sarah Plummer Memorial Prize is awarded annually to a graduate student or students who demonstrate a deep commitment to the field of classical archaeology or classical studies; to the Tufts University Department of Classics and to the broader community.

Nicole Blotner

Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama 
The Professor Kalman A. Burnim Prize for Scholarly Excellence in Drama is awarded annually to a Ph.D. student in drama, who has completed all the requirements for the degree except the dissertation, who has demonstrated distinction academically and in research, and who has contributed to the life of the program in an outstanding manner. The prize was established by alumni, colleagues, and friends in honor of Kalman A. Burnim, Emeritus Fletcher Professor of Drama and Oratory and Tufts alumnus (A'50), who created the Ph.D. program in drama. During his twenty-eight years at Tufts, Professor Burnim chaired the department for nine years and earned his reputation as a world-renowned scholar in theatre history.

Wen-ling Lin

Graduate Student Council (GSC) Awards

Outstanding Faculty Contribution to Graduate Studies
Nalini Ambady (Psychology)
Robin Kanarek (Psychology)
Analucia Schliemann (Education)

Outstanding Graduate Student Contribution to Undergraduate Studies
Elsbeth Hearn (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
Daniel Kane (Biology)
Claire Maiers ( Music)
Kathryn Handwerger (Psychology)
David J. Proctor (IDOC)

Service Award
Jocelyn Muller (Biology)

Graduate Student Photo Contest
1st Place-Lei Li (Mechanical Engineering)
2nd Place-Mark Pellegrini (Computer Science)
3rd Place-Adam South (Biology)

Graduate Alumni Awards: Outstanding Career Achievement Award

Gregory Maguire, G90, English
Best-selling author of, among other books, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West; Mirror Mirror; Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister; Son of a Witch

Robert Norton, G70, Engineering Design
Milton Prince Higgins II Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)

Graduate Alumni Awards: Outstanding Service Award

Alison “Sunny” Breed, J66, Sociology, G72, Education

Tyler Hooper, G97, Mechanical Engineering

More information about the annual Graduate Student Awards >

*Awards for arts and sciences graduate students or faculty only
**Awards for engineering graduate students or faculty only